The Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR), Osogbo field office has sealed some Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) facilities, totaling 29.

It was alleged that these gas plants were being operated in the state without valid licenses.

Mr Olusegun Daboh, DPR’s Head of Operations in Osun State, disclosed this in an interactive session with journalists on Sunday in Osogbo, the state capital.

According to him, those gas stations were sealed in Ile-Ife, Ikire, Ejigbo, Iwo, Ila-Orangun, Ede, Gbongan and Ode-Omu.

He said the department, during its routine surveillance, discovered that there were many gas stations operating without licenses, while others were situated within residential areas.

Daboh lamented the proliferation of unlicensed gas stations in the state, as he reiterated the resolve of the agency in the state to continue clamping down on those gas plants that are operating without licences.

He said:” Most of these gas plants are not only illegal but, did not meet safety guidelines on the establishment of gas plants.

“And as an agency mandated with the responsibility of ensuring safety in the oil and gas industry, we cannot fold our arms watching people operating illegally.

“As a matter of fact, we are giving all illegal gas operators in the state till February to close shop, while those with expired licenses should come for renewal.

“We are not saying they should not do their businesses, but they must be ready to follow the required safety.

“This attitude of operating illegally cannot be tolerated and that is why our surveillance team will not leave any stone unturned in its bid to ensure that safety standards were maintained in the gas business in the state”